Stages of Grief

Kubler-Ross (1969) identified five stages of grief:

First is denial, which their emotions are suppressed, refusal to cry, or pretend the event didn’t exist
or happen.

The second stage is anger, which comprises of the individual lashing out, or being verbally or physically aggressive toward others.

The next step is bargaining, which in this case the person forever wonders if their family member will ever show back up in their life. They ask questions such as “I wish my family member would come around the corner and show up. I want them to show up today.”

The next stage is depression:
The final stage is acceptance. After time, individuals end up accepting the situation, pick up the pieces, and continue forging forward in life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s